Dairy Australia welcomes Lord and Healy

By Country News

Two new faces are set to join the Dairy Australia board, following their election at the company’s annual general meeting late last month.

Dairy Australia chair Jeff Odgers said it was great to welcome David Lord and Roseanne Healy to the board and to see James Mann re-appointed.

‘‘As the industry faces new challenges it is important that we have experienced hands to help navigate a changing operating environment,’’ Mr Odgers said.

‘‘I feel confident the board has the right mix of expertise to support our future direction.’’

Mr Lord has been elected to fill the three-year term director role with a dairy processing background, for his extensive experience in fast-moving consumer goods and industrial food products.

He previously served as chief executive officer and managing director of Parmalat Australia, Warrnambool Cheese and Butter and most recently, Saputo Dairy Australia.

Ms Healy has been elected to the board for a two-year term, filling the agribusiness, innovation and adoption vacancy.

She has strong experience in the agriculture sector spanning across her current board roles, including Grains Research and Development Corporation deputy chair, Dairysafe chair and VineHealth Australia chair.

‘‘I believe Australian dairy has a great story to tell and welcome the opportunity to contribute to its future success,’’ she said.

‘‘As Australia’s third largest rural industry, dairy as sector, plays an influential part in shaping Australia’s identity, reputation, investment attraction and prosperity.’’

After fulfilling an initial term on the board of Dairy Australia, Mr Mann has been re-elected as a director to fill the milk producer position on a three-year term.

He brings to the board more than 30 years’ experience in the dairy industry, having been instrumental in developing Donovan’s Dairying and was also the chair of the DairySA board for 10 years.

An industry selection committee conducted the formal process leading to the nomination of the three candidates by the Dairy Australia board.