Car show shines again

By Country News

Cool conditions welcomed the more than 3000 people attending the Rotary Club of Cobram’s 12th Cobram Swap Meet and Shannons All Wheels Show at the Cobram Showgrounds on August 12.

The event had 392 swap sites, consisting of car parts, collectables, books, jewellery, tools and market stalls from Adelaide, Geelong, Wonthaggi and Rylstone in NSW.

The show was an outstanding display by car clubs and individuals, with more than 320 vehicles, motorcycles and trucks entered.

Cobram’s Nick DeMaio’s XB Ford Falcon GT was the Best Overall Judges’ Choice award winner and was also winner of the 1970s section.

Miss Kitty and the Memphis Trio from Wangaratta provided rockabilly music at the central barbecue area.

The Rotary Club of Cobram organises the annual event with the assistance of Cobram Lions Club, Cobram Barooga Kiwanis, Cobram Roar Soccer Club, Cobram Football Netball Club, Cobram Barooga Apex, Cobram Agricultural Society, Cobram Scouts, Cobram Barooga Soroptimists, Cobram Secondary College and the Strathmerton First Aid Group.

Funds raised will be used to assist local projects and overseas disaster relief through Rotary International

Shannons All Wheel Show Results

Pre-1939: John Anderson, Cobram (Sunbeam Sports Tourer).

1940s: Gary Hillberg, Koonoomoo (Chevrolet Sedan).

1950s: Neil Fletcher (Oldsmobile 98 Coupe).

1960s: Brenton Savage, Wangaratta (Holden HK).

1970s: Nick DeMaio, Cobram (XB Ford Falcon GT).

1980s: Ian Miller, Thurgoona (Ford XE).

1990s: Declan King, Shepparton (1994 Ford ED Sprint).

2000s: Celeste Fowler, Kialla (Holden Commodore VE SSV).

Modern/Today: Alan Bowles (FG GT Falcon).

Classic Muscle: Mark Rachele, Shepparton (Ford Futura).

Rod/Custom: Michael Wilkinson, Bearii (Ford Tourer).

Trucks: Ben Cornish, Cobram (1942 Canadian-built Jailbar Ford).

Motorcycles: Michael Penny, Eldorado (vintage 1930 Harley Davidson model V).

Panel van/Station wagon: Graham Horne, Cobram (1963 EH Holden station wagon).

Sports Car: Lesley Xerri, Cobram (Mazda MX5).

Shannons Best Overall (Judges’ Award): Nick DeMaio, Cobram (XB Ford Falcon GT).

Shannons People’s Choice Award: Brad Parker, Yarrawonga (1956 210 Chevrolet).

Cobram Outdoor and Disposal People’s Choice Vote: Russell Pell, Congupna.

The Big Strawberry Lucky Basket: Site 510, Michael Gighio, Wodonga.

$500 RACV accommodation package: Pat Kerr, Cobram.