State election winners declared

By Country News

All of the electorates across northern Victoria have had their winners declared from the November 24 state election.

In Shepparton, independent Suzanna Sheed retained her seat, as did the Nationals’ Steph Ryan in Euroa, Peter Walsh in Murray Plains and Tim McCurdy in Ovens Valley.

In Bendigo East, Labor’s Jacinta Allen won with a 7.1 per cent swing towards her, and in Eildon, Liberal Cindy McLeish lost ground but still hung on despite her party’s overall poor performance.

Not only did Ms McLeish hold onto her seat, she has been promoted to deputy Liberal leader.

While counting is still being finalised in the upper house, Mark Gepp (Labor), Wendy Lovell (Liberal), Tim Quilty (Liberal Democrats), Tania Maree Maxwell (Derryn Hinch Justice Party) and newly appointed agriculture minister Jaclyn Symes (Labor) are set for victory.

Mr Quilty and Ms Maxwell will replace the Nationals’ Luke O’Sullivan and Shooters, Fishers and Farmers’ Daniel Young who lost their seats.