Efforts acknowledged

By Country News

Elders Rural Deniliquin real estate specialist Matt Horne has been recognised as the Elders Southern Zone Salesperson of the Year.

Mr Horne was presented with the award at the Elders Real Estate Awards held at the Riva function centre in St Kilda on March 16.

The recognition was one of three awards the 35 year old received, also earning the Southern Zone Rural Salesperson of the Year as well as being recognised as an Elders Elite Agent.

Mr Horne said to earn the Elite agent status he had to satisfy the strict criteria required within the Elders network.

‘‘To receive these awards is very humbling, especially in light of the recent dry conditions and lack of water availability,’’ he said.

‘‘I’m very fortunate that I have excellent work colleagues and strong support at a branch level.

‘‘Furthermore, throughout the last 12 months I have had vendors and purchasers who have been outstanding to deal with.’’

Having grown up on the land between Finley, Berrigan and Jerilderie, Mr Horne is proud to call the Southern Riverina home.

In addition to rural and lifestyle property sales, he specialises in permanent and temporary water trading in the Murray and Murrumbidgee regions and the Victorian zones.

The awards are reflective of his growing business which is seeing another team member and employment opportunity opening up at the Elders Rural Deniliquin branch.

When asked if he thought he was going to win the top salesperson award for Elders, Mr Horne said it was unexpected as Camperdown-based agent Rob Rickard had been tipped to take out the award for the eighth consecutive year.

‘‘In reflection, we had a lot of successful sales throughout 2018,’’ he said.

‘‘The first seven to eight months of the year were very strong, particularly with the addition of the successful water auction held in July and the sale of a number of larger properties such as Raheen, Emu Park, Llanreath, Windemere and the Lehman aggregation of farms.’’

Mr Horne is now in the running for the title of Elders National Salesperson of the Year.