Seven hats in the ring

By Country News

Murray Irrigation will conduct a ballot to fill three of the five member director positions on the company’s restructured board.

The ballot opens on Thursday, May 3 and will close on Monday, May 28.

Up for election are Noel Baxter, John Bradford, Steven Bruce Fawns, Ryan Thomas Gleeson, Noel Graham, E. J. (Ted) Hatty and Louis Kelly.

The nominations come from a range of backgrounds and represent a good cross-section of enterprises across the Murray Irrigation region.

The make-up of the board, which is expected to be finalised in June, will comprise five member directors and three independent directors.

Ballot papers have been mailed to shareholders, who must have paid all outstanding accounts by noon on April 30 to be eligible to vote.

Current elected directors Waander Van Beek and Phil Snowden were encouraged to continue their tenure until 2021 after the interim board voted unanimously on the matter in December.