Murray-Darling Association leadership team announced

By Rodney Woods

Murray Darling Association has appointed an experienced and capable leadership team for the year ahead.

The leadership team includes Councillor David Thurley continuing as national president, Cr Phyllis Miller as vice-president, Cr Jane MacAllister as deputy vice-president and Pete George as treasurer.

Cr David Thurley, a councillor with Albury City Council, was elected unopposed and reinstated as the peak body’s national president.

“Basin communities currently face many challenges, particularly around changing water availability and the many social, economic and environmental issues that come with it,” Cr Thurley said.

“These are challenging times, but the MDA continues to provide a platform for communities across the basin to work together, increase basin literacy and work on solutions,” Cr Thurley said.

Cr Jane MacAllister, a councillor with Wentworth Shire Council and the MDA’s deputy vice-president, said she was humbled to be elected along with such well respected and highly regarded leaders at this pivotal juncture in water management and policy across the Murray-Darling Basin.

“I know we will work well together to respectfully advocate and proactively seek to unite and educate through local government, while supporting communities under extreme stress,” Cr MacAllister said.

“The role of local councils is becoming more active through engagement with agencies, responsibly increasing water literacy and understanding of complex issues throughout communities and informing policy through submissions, while (in NSW) also acting as water utilities, providing critical human water needs where state government cannot, due to supply issues and scarcity."