G-MW board members reappointed

By Rodney Woods

Directors Alana Johnson and Margaret O’Rourke have been re-appointed to Goulburn-Murray Water's board for additional four-year terms.

The Victorian Government said the appointments were part of its successful gender parity target across Victoria’s 19 water corporations and 10 catchment management authorities.

The women were among a series of board appointments made by Victorian Water Minister Lisa Neville, which the government said assured G-MW of strong, consistent leadership in the years ahead, with no other appointments due before 2021.

Ms Johnson is a renowned advocate for women in leadership, particularly in the agriculture sector.

From a fifth generation farming family, she is a former Victorian Rural Women’s Award winner and was named in the inaugural 100 Women of Influence in Australia by the Australian Financial Review.

Ms O’Rourke is an accomplished business woman with extensive leadership experience.

A former general manager of Telstra Countrywide, Ms O'Rourke has held board positions in healthcare, education and industry and is the current mayor of the City of Greater Bendigo.

Filling out the G-MW board of directors are Pat McNamara (deputy chair), Jonathan Koop, David McKenzie, Margot Henty, Dennis Quinn and Ari Suss.